Seat Ateca SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I have just purchased an ex-demo Ateca. When I test drove the vehicle in England the maps were working perfectly. I then had the car delivered to Northern Ireland and the maps must've been taken off as the Nav screen is now saying 'Navigation Database Not Available'.

I have a brand new memory card called SEAT Navigation AS (Europe 1 (V4) which I inserted into the SD slot. A message appeared saying that the memory card contained Navigation data. However when I go into system updates (as per the manual), under software updates I am told there are no software updates available from the source. Anyone encountered this before? Maybe I am doing something stupid. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Craig
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
The database stays on the SD card all the time. The update you mentioned I think is the system (firmware, code) update which also may be available on SD card. For navigation just keep the SD card in.

To be honest my card was not recognised for some reason and I put it to other slot, but when I moved it again it's working on both. Just teething problem.

If the database cannot be found you can download it from the internet, unpack to new card (I'd recommend use different card) and try it in your car.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
98 Posts
Hi I've had my Ateca for 4 months and hardly used the Sat Nav. On Thursday I had to cross the River Mersey to work and was taken to the old bridge which has been shut for a year! Obviously the system needs to be updated, but how do I do that?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
Don't need to update the system. Only update the map which sits on SD card.
Not sure whether this will help with closed bridge though...

My first map was dated 2017 and my street was not there... I live here since 2011 but it was built 4-5 years before I moved in...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
94 Posts
There is a known fault with the standard have system fitted to the Ateca and the whole VW range. I have to reset my "have" 2 or 3 times a day.
This has been going on for 6 months now and the dealer I leased mine from now has 9 "Waiting for a software update" hopefully to fix the problems. No info on went that is going to be yet. I've had a month's lease money back from VW finance and a £340 Tom Tom from Seat UK for my troubles. Thinking of rejecting the car as 6 months is an unreasonable length of time to wait for a fix
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
94 Posts
Predictive text Sorry. Should read Standard nav system
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi. I have the same issue as Craig. Purchased a 1.6TDI First Edition which had no database in, which I found strange. Dealer has now sent an SD card through but although the system recognises it as a Sat Nav database, the Sat Nav still says "No database available".

Anyone have any tips on how do I get the database to load please?

Martyn
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
119 Posts
I had the same issue when i did the latest update from the Seat website. I ended up puting the original maps files back on. I think the Seat website one has something missing. So I'm running with out of date maps but at least it's working.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
If you don't have MapCare (most people don't have) you have to do some hacking to get updated map working.
In short - replace file overall.nds from the backup and edit one text file. Search forum for the details - there was detailed instruction posted some time ago.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
119 Posts
pch said:
If you don't have MapCare (most people don't have) you have to do some hacking to get updated map working.
In short - replace file overall.nds from the backup and edit one text file. Search forum for the details - there was detailed instruction posted some time ago.
After extracting the maps folder from Seat website directly on to the SD card i replaced the overall nds file ( the one in the EEC /EEC WLD folder ) with the one which originally came with the card and its working now.

No need to edit the text file.

The file from Seat is much smaller as they have broken down the files into smaller groups of countries so just pick one where you drive in the contries listed. I only ever drive in the UK so i think there were 2 or 3 groups i could have picked from.

Thanks to the techy guys on here , which makes forums like this invaluable. :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
It looks even easier than it was ;)
I use this method since I got my Ateca (early '17) and it always work.

Downloading smaller file seems very good idea but you have to keep in mind you have smaller file on SD while driving abroad.
Otherwise you can recall this when you cross the border, which would not be helpful :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
186 Posts
Guys,

Its taken me 2 days to sort this, but I have! Try this, Read it first and understand the principles of how this works. Note this assumes Windows is your operating system, VW do show how to for Apple in the link below. Be aware of the 2 systems in Atecas!!

1; Go to SEAT/VW site and download latest map version for your cars infotainment system. https://www.seat.com/owners/my-seat/navigation/map-updates.html. I used the 6PO version for my car and "Europe 1" map

Store it on PC on hard drive for future use. (Create a file called "SEAT Ateca Sat Nav Details)

2; Ensure your SD card is "unlocked" beforehand, check the slider on the side of the card. Put original SD card in PC and "cut and paste original "maps" onto hard drive into your "SEAT Ateca" file and call it "Original" just in case you need to reinstall it back onto the card. There will be a file called "maps", this is the program you need to copy. Ensure SD card is empty after transferring off old map.

3; Copy new downloaded maps folder from Ateca folder of PC to SD card completely. Use "7 zip" as below: You will need to download "7zip" onto your PC, then follow these steps below from VW;

https://webspecial.volkswagen.de/vwinfotainment/dam/jcr:a5bab2de-2bdf-4946-b26f-105c576c9047/Discover_Media_PQ_Gen_2_October_2018_EN.pdf

4; Then crucially, copy from your ORIGINAL map this file "MAPS/EEC/EEC_WLD/OVERALL.NDS" to replace the same file on your SD card. This means that original data on the original map program is carried over onto the new map program. Without doing this, the new downloaded map will not work. as it is car-specific.

5; Relock the SD card and put in car!

Hope this helps!! As I said, took me 2 days but I eventually got it right. Read these instructions and do the downloads in preparation first and keep a cool head when doing it!

Good Luck!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
stupra said:
Guys,

Its taken me 2 days to sort this, but I have! Try this, Read it first and understand the principles of how this works. Note this assumes Windows is your operating system, VW do show how to for Apple in the link below. Be aware of the 2 systems in Atecas!!

1; Go to SEAT/VW site and download latest map version for your cars infotainment system. https://www.seat.com/owners/my-seat/navigation/map-updates.html. I used the 6PO version for my car and "Europe 1" map

Store it on PC on hard drive for future use. (Create a file called "SEAT Ateca Sat Nav Details)

2; Ensure your SD card is "unlocked" beforehand, check the slider on the side of the card. Put original SD card in PC and "cut and paste original "maps" onto hard drive into your "SEAT Ateca" file and call it "Original" just in case you need to reinstall it back onto the card. There will be a file called "maps", this is the program you need to copy. Ensure SD card is empty after transferring off old map.

3; Copy new downloaded maps folder from Ateca folder of PC to SD card completely. Use "7 zip" as below: You will need to download "7zip" onto your PC, then follow these steps below from VW;

https://webspecial.volkswagen.de/vwinfotainment/dam/jcr:a5bab2de-2bdf-4946-b26f-105c576c9047/Discover_Media_PQ_Gen_2_October_2018_EN.pdf

4; Then crucially, copy from your ORIGINAL map this file "MAPS/EEC/EEC_WLD/OVERALL.NDS" to replace the same file on your SD card. This means that original data on the original map program is carried over onto the new map program. Without doing this, the new downloaded map will not work. as it is car-specific.

5; Relock the SD card and put in car!

Hope this helps!! As I said, took me 2 days but I eventually got it right. Read these instructions and do the downloads in preparation first and keep a cool head when doing it!

Good Luck!
I don't usually respond to forums but I have to give credit for the useful information. I too was experiencing problems with the Sat Nav update for an Arona, but this information for the Ateca worked just as well. I was getting the error message 'navigation database not available'. I also took two days to get it working after relying on the instructions on the SEAT website. I finally got it working by following your crucial point 4 "copy from your ORIGINAL map this file 'MAPS/EEC/EEC_WLD/OVERALL.NDS' to replace the same file on your SD card". Thank you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
This is a bit bad of SEAT UK, see the posts in the ARONA forum, see BenC post about using VW Discovercare... https://www.aronaforums.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=609&start=80 I still had to restore the OVERALL.NDS file on our ARONA SD Card, just doing the ATECA today.

Will update here on my findings!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
richardcole39 said:
Hi All,

I am silly enough as not to have kept the original map!! Would somebody know if I can get this from anywhere?

Thank you.
Hi Richard, are you still having issues? I can try and send my NDS file to you, see if you can recover your maps...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
RalphUp said:
This is a bit bad of SEAT UK, see the posts in the ARONA forum, see BenC post about using VW Discovercare... https://www.aronaforums.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=609&start=80 I still had to restore the OVERALL.NDS file on our ARONA SD Card, just doing the ATECA today.

Will update here on my findings!
2018 (68 Plate) Arona SE Tech - Using VW discovery and updating to the FULL EUROPE ECEAS - Full Update (14Gb)

Worked, but only after the original OVERALL.NDS file was restored - Now on MAPS 2020 (v1310)

2019 (69 Plate) Ateca XCELLENCE Lux - Using VW discovery and updating to the FULL EUROPE ECEAS - Full Update (14Gb)

Worked straight away without the need for the original OVERALL.NDS - Now on MAPS 2020 (v1310)

2019 (19 Plate) Leon SE Tech - Using VW discovery and updating to the FULL EUROPE ECEAS - Full Update (14Gb)

Worked, but only after the original OVERALL.NDS file was restored, first few attempts NO DATABASE, then I unlocked the SD card and it started to work, maybe the header unit needs to be able to update the file itself (haven't done any further investigation on that though! Now with the SD Card switch in the Locked position, maps are working - Now on MAPS 2020 (v1310)

PS NEVER Put the SD card in the CD Slot, wasn't paying attention when re-inserting the card, luckly it didnt go all the way in and I managed to get it out with a pair of tweezers! DOH!!! :eek: :eek:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Hi RalphUp,

Yes I still cannot get this problem sorted.

Feel a bit of a fool not keeping the original copy.

Sending your NDS file is very kind thank you.
 
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
Top