Seat Ateca SUV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys,

A lot of posts have explained the process of doing an update of your cars SatNav card as supplied. I summoned up the courage to try it, Its taken me 2 days to sort this, but I have! Try this,;

Read it first and understand the principles of how this works. Note this assumes Windows is your operating system, VW do show how to for Apple in the link below. Be aware of the 2 systems in Atecas!!

1; Go to SEAT site and download latest map version for your cars infotainment system. https://www.seat.com/owners/my-seat/navigation/ateca.html I used the 6PO version for my car and "Europe 1" map

Store it on PC on your hard drive for future use. (Create a file called "SEAT Ateca Sat Nav Details)

2; Ensure your SD card from your car is "unlocked" beforehand, check the slider on the side of the card. Put original SD card in PC and "cut and paste" original "maps" file onto hard drive into your "SEAT Ateca" file and call it "Original" just in case you need to reinstall it back onto the card. There will be a file called "maps", this is the program you need to copy. Ensure SD card is empty after transferring off old map.

3; Copy new downloaded maps folder from Ateca folder of PC to SD card completely. Use "7 zip" as below: You will need to download "7zip" onto your PC, then follow these instructional steps below from VW for reference. Be very aware of the unzipping program &zip, its what the maps bundle comes in.

https://webspecial.volkswagen.de/vwinfotainment/int/en/index/downloads/maps-download#/?car=d64a56bf-64e4-4c9d-b11e-d8d0a4e3c04f&navi=f7d60bb5-e4c7-4f15-a629-ed994e464a9f Choose the Golf model 2017 and the "Discover Media" unit. Scroll to the bottom of this page and find "Download Manual PDF! This is really useful!

4; Then crucially, copy from your ORIGINAL map this file this "MAPS/EEC/EEC_WLD/OVERALL.NDS" to replace the same file on your SD card with the new update. This means that original data on the original map program is carried over onto the new map program. Without doing this, the new downloaded map will not work, as it is car-specific.

5; Relock the SD card and put in car!

Hope this helps!! As I said, took me 2 days but I eventually got it right. Read these instructions and do the downloads in preparation first and keep a cool head when doing it! I've now got version 1115, coming from version 0820

Good Luck!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JDR and Pioneer100

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,717 Posts
Can you use a new SD card and do it on that? That way, if it goes wrong you can still use the original.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
273 Posts
no, I suspect that the OVERALL.NDS you copy back has the serial number (or something) of the original SD card so it doesn't work on new card
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Fred99 said:
Can you use a new SD card and do it on that? That way, if it goes wrong you can still use the original.
Hello Fred,

I would assume that if you were to get a decent speed SD card with a capacity over 20GB (I think the SEAT one is around 15GG), you should be fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Paul.Cambs said:
no, I suspect that the OVERALL.NDS you copy back has the serial number (or something) of the original SD card so it doesn't work on new card
Hello Paul,

Yes, that's what I meant, the original map program has a car-specific item on it. Darn crafty these Spaniards!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,717 Posts
I'm not sure that's right as the cards are not delivered with the car. Many have commented that they had to go back to the. Dealer to collect one as the dealer hadn't fitted one.

When I picked up mine it was just in a dvd box with no indication which car it was for.

As Paul said, it may be that the actual card serial number is used to effectively prevent cloning.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
61 Posts
Excellent, thanks for this thread. I updated my version 0636 to 1115. It does take a while copying across files and took the car about a minute to decide to display the maps on first install.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Cheers Stupra I followed your instructions to the letter and achieved 100% success. The only thing that threw me was that the download stopped with a message" customer update cannot be downloaded" I took a chance and clicked skip all and it started again the same happened when I copied overall.nds to the new map on the original card I clicked skip ana all was well. My map version is now 1115 2019 which has saved me 100 sods at the stealers. Thanks mate keep up the good work
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
aggie2347 said:
Cheers Stupra I followed your instructions to the letter and achieved 100% success. The only thing that threw me was that the download stopped with a message" customer update cannot be downloaded" I took a chance and clicked skip all and it started again the same happened when I copied overall.nds to the new map on the original card I clicked skip ana all was well. My map version is now 1115 2019 which has saved me 100 sods at the stealers. Thanks mate keep up the good work
Glad it worked aggie!

I just needed to write the update down in a methodological way for others to follow. As I said originally, took me 2 days to get it to work but it's nice to see 'version 1115' in the Settings of 5he sat nav now!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
I followed it oķ but I had my doubts when it would not download the customer update. I thought it might be for Mapcare or the higher spec infortainment system I was chuffed when I put the card back in the slot and it worked. If I can do it albeit with your help anyone can update their maps on a standard media system it's that easy and for no money it's a no brainer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Hi

Newbie so I apologise if this has been asked before

I have recently updated my maps (using the VW TIGUAN files mentioned by another poster) and all seems to be well.

However before the update I had:
6P0
0730
ECE1 2017

After:
5F0
1115
ECE AS 19/20

Is the change from 6P0 to 5F0 important or does that just happen when you use VW rather than SEAT files?

P
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Hi just followed the procedure to up date the sd card it appears that this is missing from the procedure I had to change the file in /maps/00/nds/dbininfo.text so that the part number is the same as yours ie 6PO919xxxxx, I changed part number 4=5F to mine it wouldn't work until I did that.
Your part numbers is in settings info button.
Got this info off the Cupra forum.
Mine is now 1310...ECE AS 2020
I used the VW discovermedia2_EU_1310_V11.7z which is the most up to date v11 released a few weeks ago.
But I seem to at the moment to have lost the POIs, not sure why still trying to work it out any ideas welcome please.
And does any body have access to any POIs that can be uploaded vis the SD card2 slot please, what type files are they?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Good news the poi details were there all the time it was me pressing the wrong buttons.
As a matter of interest tried formatting a new high speed sd card and copied the original v7 to it but the car would not see it so I guess when the seat card is first inserted the card is locked to the unit. Which stops it being copied or used in another vehicle.
The good news is that the process to update the card with the unit definitely works
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Glad to hear that you guys are trying this and getting it to work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Just updated mine, now at 1310, strange thing was the file was approx 6.1gb from 13 gb, all seems ok when put in car, just wondering what could be missing as thats alot of data difference.+Edit: used the 6PO file Europe 1 from the Seat site.
Edit 2: just checked the folders in hte oo folder there is a product folder, my original one had files e1,e2,e3,e4,e5,e6,e8,e10,e11,e12,13 now it only has E1,E2,e3,e12. Any ideas what is missing or what the files are?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
208 Posts
Sorry I'm confused.
I'm pretty pc savy but all this is worrying me.
My car, new as of March 1st 2019, has V7 in it.
I'm downloading the 1310 version at present to my pc but after that I'm lost, I simply don't understand the above instructions and don't want to ruin the SD Card in the car.
I hate zip files tbh, always a mare. I'm using a Chromebook so don't know if I'll be able to open it.
In the 1st post it says to open and save the new file to a Seat Sat Nav file then transfer the old data to that, but isn't that full of the new data?
It also says to upload/copy another file across from the old card to the now empty one (after you've cleaned it I presume), again confused.
Can someone please explain it in simple over 50 years old codger steps?
TIA.
 
1 - 20 of 47 Posts
Top