Battery faulty after 18 months dealer saying not covered

Faults and Technical chat for the Seat Ateca
fabbers

Battery faulty after 18 months dealer saying not covered

Post by fabbers » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:08 pm

Hi all

I've been a happy Ateca driver (personal lease) for 18 months (22,000 miles) however I've hit a bit of a bump in the road :roll: in regards to a warranty claim. Bear with me.

So temperatures have taken a dive which I reckon will have contributed however last Saturday I parked up for approximately 15 minutes with the engine off and electrics on, I then got a low battery warning "drive to charge" turned the ignition, dead. Rang seat assist and once arrived, checked for drains, none, jump started and all good. Did a very long 40 minute route home to get some charge back in. All good. Tuesday drove 25 minutes away, parked up went to an appointment, came back to car 40 minutes later got in turned key, dead again (I'd also done 80 miles between sat and tue). Seat assist out again, no abnormal drain, battery only registering a quarter of documented capacity. AA fill out form telling me it needs replacing and to drive straight to dealer as unlikely to start under own power again.

I do exactly that, drop it off, get a call back the following day saying yes battery at fault however diagnostics say it's not a factory fault so likely external influence so not covered they want £410 for a replacement! I know how batteries work and also that they are sealed units so when I challenged what external influence could be they said, 'any number of things'. I have maintenance on my lease but they're saying it should be warranty but the dealer won't budge.

I've now raised a case with seat directly and had it escalated, in 20 years of motoring I've never known a battery die so quickly so would point at a fault rather than wear and tear. I'm without my car and luckily have been off work.