Ordered on Friday 3rd May!

New to the Seat Ateca Forums? Introduce yourself here
roadexplorer100

Ordered on Friday 3rd May!

Post by roadexplorer100 » Mon May 06, 2019 9:14 pm

Hi Everyone! I hope you have had a great bank holiday weekend (in the UK at least)!

Just ordered my Xcellence Lux 1.5 TSI Manual in Rhodium Grey. Really impressed by this forum so thought I would join in!
Thank you for all the helpful posts throughout the forum. They helped me make my decision!

I'm Currently driving a 1.0 Ecoboost Focus, so I think the Ateca will be a great step up (not just in ride height lol).

I'm a total newbie to Seat (apart from the MK1 Ibiza my Dad drove in 1986. The puny engine had 'Porsche' emblazoned on it lol). He now drives one of the new(ish) Peugeot 3008s which I have been really impressed with, but pound-for-pound the Ateca won on style and equipment.

I love the style of the Ateca and enjoyed my test drive, although I will have to get the hang of the hand brake as I kept trying to turn it off with the clutch at the bite and foot-brake off (I am used to a manual hand brake).

The sales process has been straightforward so far. No long long explanations of GAP insurance and scotch-guarding the upholstery like dealers from other brands. The dealer told me I will wait 12-14 weeks for delivery. I have not received any more detailed info at this stage. At the moment given the lead time I will plan to register in September to catch the new reg... Is that sensible do you think?

I have noticed some VERY long wait times mentioned on this forum, and completely sympathize with all the frustration, after all the motor industry is moving so fast these days, if you have to wait the best part of a year for a new car, it might well be that a better car has come to market in that time, leaving the buyer feeling trapped.